Herøy Church was built in Romanesque style in the second half of the 1100s, at the same time as the churches in Alstahaug and Dønnes was built. It is reasonable to assume that the construction was coordinated. The stone church in Herøy has a unique architecture and is the only Northern Norwegian church with apse, a semi-circular extension on the east side of the altar. Both on the outside and inside of the church we can find a number of remarkable traces of rebuilding and changes throughout the ages. The alter stone is probably original. It was broken in two and broken in the corners, but is now restored and put in place, and three out of five carved cross are intact. The church has over the years been changed and rebuilt several times. Because of the 1851 Church Law, which required the parish church to accommodate at least three tenths of the population and as the population in Herøy increased sharply due to the good seafood fishing, the church in 1879-80 was extended 13 meters west. Large windows were installed and the chancel arch was demolished.
In the 1960s, the church was the subject of extensive restoration that led to its medieval rise.
Both the altarpiece from 1764 and the pulpit from 1765 were painted by Gottfried Ezekiel, commissioned by “Bishop” N.C. Fris.
At the entrance there is an exhibition showing various objects found in and around the church. It should be mentioned that Maren Falck`s grave plate, mother of poet priest Petter Dass, is exhibited here.
Here we also find portraits of most of the parish priests who were ordained since 1862.
Herøy Church is actively used for ecclesiastical acts and worship, and also as an excellent concert venue. The church is available for guided tours, which can be ordered by telephone +47 75 06 80 28.
Open everyday from 11:00 to 17:00 in July
Source: Helgeland Museum